Otherhood

A few years ago, I considered having a baby on my own, by way of artificial insemination. I had been single for a couple of years, and realized that if I wanted children, I might have to go it alone. I read about it, and thought about it. Pretty soon though, I realized I didn’t want it enough to take that huge, irrevocable step on my own. My only real pro-motherhood reason was that I might one day regret not having children, and then it would be too late.

It’s still not too late, biologically. But I still don’t want it. In fact, this conviction has only grown stronger in me. It’s not that I don’t like children, it’s that I really don’t want to be a mother. I want complete ownership of myself and of my life. I only have this me, this life, and I am not willing to hand over the reins to anyone else. Not again.

Before thirty, life just happened. I just tagged along. Then I woke up and started taking risks, making decisions based on what I wanted. I’ve been single ever since.

Although I long for a man to love and to share my life with, staying single between 30 and 40 might have been my “salvation”. If I had stayed in my earlier relationship, or entered into another one, I would probably have been a mother by now. Just because that’s the way life goes. Instead, I have had the time and space to make myself happy, and figure out what I really want.

It often strikes me how perfectly this otherhood fits me. Some people hate being alone. I love it! Some people coordinate their family lives with the professional efficiency of an office manager. I’m a logistic disaster. Sure, you don’t have to be the perfect “parent type” to be a mother. It’s just that I’d rather be an other.

7 responses to “Otherhood

  1. Bra skrivet Anna! Jag är likadan; gifte mig, flyttade till stor lägenhet, allt var redo för avkomma. Men inte jag. Jag väntade och väntade, slutade med p-piller, men kom på mig själv att jag hittade på ursäkter varje gång vi skulle få till det.
    Var tvungen att lämna honom och ge honom chansen att skaffa barn med någon annan. Än idag har jag inte hört nåt ticktockande från den berömda biologiska klockan. Jag gillar också barn, bara man kan lämna tillbaka dem och rå om sig själv 🙂

    • Tack Marisol! Fint att veta att andra kan uppleva något liknande. Jag lämnade också min relation “fem i tolv”. Han fick sitt första barn ett par år senare, vilket på något sätt bekräftade att jag hade gjort rätt.

  2. word. word. word. ❤

  3. Det där kunde varit något jag skrivit… Supersingel, passerat 40 och känner ingen drift efter att skaffa barn. Kanske om jag hade träffat den rätta hade livet sett annorlunda ut. Letar fortfarande efter en livskamrat, men det ska vara någon som berikar mitt liv, inte begränsar det.

    • Sent svar från mig… Jag känner/tänker precis så som du skriver också. Och jag trodde inte att det var så många som vi förrän jag började prata om detta.

  4. Instammer! Sjalv har jag hittat en livskamrat men ingen av oss vill ha barn. Oroar mig dock lite att sitta pa alderns host och angra att jag aldrig skaffade barn.. Kanske borjar den dar klockan ticka lagom nar det ar forsent? Och barnbarn verkar mysigt att ha… pa samma satt som att jag skulle vilja ge mina foraldrar chansen att bli mormor och morfar… men ingen av dessa anledningar kanns som tillracklig for att faktiskt skaffa barn.

Leave a Reply

